Research & Innovation Portal

Try out our new Research and Innovation portal to find the latest published articles and information.

The Department of Agriculture offers a Diploma (NQF 6), Advanced Diploma (NQF 7) and Post Graduate Diploma (NQF 8) in Agricultural Management. It also offers an Advanced Diploma in Agricultural Extension (NQF 7), a Master’s (NQF 9) and Doctoral degree (NQF 10) in Agriculture, as well as Post-Doctoral Fellowships in Agriculture. Agriculture (also called farming or husbandry) involves a set of activities that transform the environment for the production of animals and plants for human use. The study of agriculture is known as agricultural science and includes farming with animals, plants, fungi, and other life forms for food, fibre, bio-fuel and other products used to sustain human life. The development of agriculture has been driven and defined by different climates, cultures and technologies. All farming activities rely on specific techniques and are used for plant production and animal grazing under irrigation and/ or dry-land farming.

At the Central University of Technology, Free State students are trained in various aspects of agriculture such as: Agricultural Management, Animal breeding, Animal nutrition, Animal reproduction, Crop production, Irrigation and drainage, Plant physiology, Pasture science, Soil classification, Soil fertility, Weed control, Insect and pest control and Agricultural Engineering. Obtaining agricultural qualifications, therefore offers great opportunities to graduates in several organizations (private and government sectors).

The Department of Agriculture is moving beyond farming. Join us!