Prestigious Vice-Chancellor’s Excellence Awards 2017

“Excellence is a continuous moving target that can be pursued through actions of integrity, being the front-runner in terms of products/services provided. Our recipients are indeed the fore-runners at CUT.” These were the words of commendation from Prof. Henk de Jager, Vice-Chancellor and Principal at the annual Vice-Chancellor’s Excellence Awards held on 16 November 2017.


The annual VC’s Awards aim to acknowledge the exceptional performance of staff members for their sustained and outstanding achievement in research, innovation, teaching, curriculum innovation, community engagements and support services, which are aligned with the university’s vision about social and technological innovations in delivering quality education in the higher education landscape.

For the first time this year, the awards included a category on Entrepreneurship Award Category which aligned with the university’s aspiration of ‘reimagining CUT as a transformative, entrepreneurial, engaged university and ‘model’ University of Technology in Africa and beyond.

Another new category is the Support Staff Award, which is also a symbol of progress in embracing ‘The human Project’ theme, that states that everyone must have a sense of belonging, of feeling important and be able to reach their full potential.

Prof. de Jager reflected on CUT’s strides which included recognition by external agencies such as NRF, DST and BRICKS Network. “We are leading the sector in many ways in the fields of curriculum transformation and academic excellence,” said he, referring to the increase in research outputs, NRF ratings, postgraduate recipients, which he attributed to the commitment, dedication and passion of staff members in adding value and bringing credit to the university.

The three nomination categories are Category A (teaching and curriculum innovation awards), Category B (research and innovation awards) and Category C (community engagement award).

Category A: Teaching and curriculum innovation awards

  • Early Career Teaching Award: Ms IK Sebelogo, Faculty of Health and Environmental Sciences
  • Advanced Career Teaching Award: Prof. DK Das, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology (IT)

Category B:  Research and Innovation Awards

  • Early Career Research Award: Dr B Awuzie, Faculty of Engineering & IT
  • Established Researcher Award:  Prof. PJ Fourie, Faculty of Health and Environmental Sciences

Category C: Community Engagement Award: Mr A Mhlaba, Faculty of Engineering & IT

Category D: Innovation and Entrepreneur Award (new)

  • Innovation Award:  Mr LR Masheane, Prof. WB du Preez, Mr J Combrinck, Mr GJ Booysen and Mr J Els from the Faculty of Engineering & IT, Centre for Rapid Prototyping and Manufacturing
  • Entrepreneurship Award: Ms J Coetzer, Faculty of Engineering and IT

Category E – Support Staff (new category in 2017)

  • Mrs M Mbeo, Middle Management, Junior Management, Specialists, Faculty of Engineering & IT and
  • Mr F Motlhanke, Administrative staff, Administration: IT & Logistics

Among the dignitaries who graced the event are families of the recipients, CUT members of Council, Cllrs Dr Sylvan Seane, Lesiba Sebola and Sylvester Mosoeu, Senate and SRC members.


Winners in the Innovation award category, from left: Prof. Alfred Ngowi, Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research Innovation and Engagement; Mr Jacques Combrinck, Lecturer: Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering; Prof. Willie du Preez, Professor: Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology; Mr Lebohang Masheane, Technical Assistant: Mechanical Engineering; Mr Johan Els, Project Engineer: CRPM, Mr Gerrie Booysen, Director CPRM and Prof. Henk de Jager, Vice-Chancellor and Principal.


Uploaded: 17 November 2017

This site works best with javascript enabled. It appears your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page as it is meant to appear, please use a JavaScript enabled browser.
If you need help making these minor changes please see this page from Google.
Show Buttons
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Share On Pinterest
Hide Buttons