The Department of Life Sciences at the Central University of Technology, Free State is situated within the Faculty of Health and Environmental Sciences.

Life Sciences department comprises one research unit and four academic Divisions: Unit of Applied Food Science and –Biotechnology, Environmental Health; Dental Assisting, Fire Technology (currently facing out) and Generic Base Subjects divisions.  The Department embraces the full breadth of modern life science activity and comprises one of the largest research groups in the university. The department embraces approximately 20+ academic staff, 5 research fellows and post-doctoral researchers, 10+ PhD and 15+ Masters students.  The Department’s research and teaching activities are funded by a wide variety of research councils, charities and industries bodies. Life Sciences department conducts research based on the main academic division of Environmental Health and Dental Assisting and covers areas such as: Food Safety, Biotechnology, Waste Management, Occupational Health and Safety, Epidemiology, Molecular Biology, Oral Hygiene, Environmental Radioactivity, Air Quality amongst others.  The department also hosts a student organization (Life Sciences Student Organization) involved in a number of community empowerment project related to students’ academic work.

Head of Department

Dr. N Malebo

Tel: +27 (0)51 507 3884 | Fax: +27(0) 51 507 3435 | E-mail:



Staff in the Department


Contact us

Secretary: Ms M Botha
Tel.: +27(0)51 507 3134 | Fax: +27(0)51 507 3435 | E-mail:


Updated: 17 April 2018

This site works best with javascript enabled. It appears your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page as it is meant to appear, please use a JavaScript enabled browser.
If you need help making these minor changes please see this page from Google.
Show Buttons
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Share On Pinterest
Hide Buttons