The Department of Language and Social Sciences Education is responsible for initial teacher education, specializing in the following languages: Sesotho, Setswana, IsiXhosa, IsiZulu, English and Afrikaans. The objective of the Department is to equip all prospective educators to promote the different languages in schools, FET Colleges and other institutions.

Head of Department 

Dr PA Phindane

Tel: +27(0)51 507 3832 | E-mail:


Contact us

Secretary: Ms C Monoko

Tel.: +27(0)51 507 3348 | Fax: +27(0)51 507 3367 | E-mail:

Acting Department Manager: Dr AM Rambuda

Tel: +27(0)57 910 3607 | Fax: +27(0)866192507 | E-mail:


Updated: 18 April 2018

This site works best with javascript enabled. It appears your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page as it is meant to appear, please use a JavaScript enabled browser.
If you need help making these minor changes please see this page from Google.
Show Buttons
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Share On Pinterest
Hide Buttons