Faculty of Management Sciences recognises excellence

The Faculty of Management Sciences at CUT held its annual excellence awards in honour and recognition of the top achieving staff and students within the faculty.


The ceremony is aimed at motivating staff and students to continue pursuing excellence.  It is also a testament to the commitment that the faculty has to the quality of teaching and learning, research and innovation practices by staff and students.

“I am delighted to be part of this celebration this evening in honour of the outstanding performance of the staff and students and their contribution the university”, said Prof. Frederick Francois (Derik) Coetzee, a keynote speaker at the function.

He said that working with sports teams is an important way to teach accountability and cooperation and that these lessons are equally applicable to any situation such as at CUT where management, all sections and students work together to achieve their institutional goals.

This is not for the first time the faculty has shown appreciation of its students and staff for their hard work.  Over the years these awards have grown from strength to strength and have set high standards of achievements for all participants.  They are in line with the university’s vision and its academic project to improve the relevance and impact of CUT’s programmes.

Top achievers received certificates and trophies for their hard work, dedication, commitment, and excellence.   The recipients were awarded in the following categories: Best first year student, RN Komako: HR Management, Best National Diploma student, JJ Khabele: Office Management and Technology, Best BTech student, C De Villiers: Hospitality Management, Best Masters’ student, N Makhalemele: M. Tech: Business Administration, and Best Doctoral student, LD Mosweunyane: DTech: Business Administration.

The teaching awards went to FJ Mavuso (Early Career award) and C Grobbelaar (Advanced Career).  Research and Innovation award was presented to Dr P Rambe: Established Researcher.  The categories for best mentors and best outstanding support also got recognition while deserving students received with certificates.


From left: Miranda Londi Mvusi, Masters student and Assistant Lecturer Civil Engineering, Dipula Modipa, Third-year student BEd Language Education; Prof. Albert Strydom, Dean: Faculty of Management Sciences, Sizwe Ntimane, BTech: Mechanical Engineering, Joe Radebe, Arts and Music Coordinator : Governance and Student life; Ofentse Khutwane, second year student in NHC Accounting. The group is called “We are Urban”.

Uploaded: 15 March 2017

This site works best with javascript enabled. It appears your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page as it is meant to appear, please use a JavaScript enabled browser.
If you need help making these minor changes please see this page from Google.
Show Buttons
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Share On Pinterest
Hide Buttons